Posting date reported · time unknown · Found via Official
Assistant Professor, Department of Food Technology (2 posts, Notice 09 of 2026)
IUST is filling two Assistant Professor posts (RBA and OBC categories) in its Department of Food Technology under a 48-post faculty advertisement.
- Country
- India
- Experience
- Experience not specified
- Salary / stipend
- Pay not disclosed
- Apply by
- 02 Dec 2026
- Job type
- Full-time
- Work mode
- On-site
- Function
- Teaching
- Openings
- 2
- Application fee
- Rs. 1,000 (non-refundable, paid online); PwD candidates exempt
Who can apply
B.E./B.Tech/B.S. and M.E./M.Tech/M.S. or integrated M.Tech in Food Technology or allied branch, first class in either degree
Review the original notice to confirm the requirements. Related degrees are not automatically equivalent; the recruiting organisation decides eligibility.
What you’ll do
Teaching and research in food technology at the department.
What the employer asks for
- B.E./B.Tech./B.S. and M.E./M.Tech./M.S. or Integrated M.Tech. in food technology or a relevant/allied branch, with first class or equivalent in either degree
- NET (UGC or CSIR) or SLET/SET of J&K; candidates with a Ph.D. under UGC 2009 regulations (or a qualifying pre-2009 Ph.D., or from a top-500 world-ranked foreign university) are exempt
- Posts are reserved for RBA and OBC categories under J&K UT rules; 4% horizontal reservation for PwD
- Candidates with Ph.D. and Master's before 19 September 1991 with 50% or more are also eligible
Selection process
- Shortlisting if many applications: ordinarily 20 candidates for one post and 5 for each additional post
- Score out of 100: academic record 80 (graduation, post-graduation, M.Phil/Ph.D., NET/JRF/SET, awards), research publications 10, teaching or post-doctoral experience 10
- Scopus or Web of Science papers carry 2 marks each, scaled by authorship position
- Interview for shortlisted candidates; originals checked at interview; no TA/DA paid
Documents to keep ready
- Printout of the submitted online application form
- Self-attested copies of all certificates and testimonials, arranged in the order of the form's serial numbers
- Detailed CV with full publication details
- Valid category or EWS certificate, if claiming reservation
- Experience certificates from the competent authority
- Certificate that the Ph.D. complies with UGC 2009 regulations (Annexure), if holding a Ph.D.
- AIU equivalence certificate for foreign degrees
- Application forwarded through the employer if currently employed
Pay, benefits and perks
New Pension Scheme (NPS)
How to apply
Read the full notice and follow the instructions on the original application page.
Online form by 2 Dec 2026; signed hard copy must reach the Registrar by 7 Dec 2026, 4:00 PM
Skills for this role
What employers ask for in Research (JRF / SRF / PhD / Postdoc) roles. named in this notice
- Junior Research Fellow
- JRF
- Senior Research Fellow
- SRF
- PhD
- Postdoctoral
- Research Associate
- Food Technology research
- GATE XL
- ICAR NET
- ASRB
- Publications
- Impact factor
- h-index
- Research proposal
- Grant writing
Pay on similar vacancies
From 27 Government vacancies on FSD in the same role family that publish pay. Monthly, before deductions.
Prepare for the interview
Questions commonly asked for Research (JRF / SRF / PhD / Postdoc) roles. Practise answers with an example and a number.
- Summarise your dissertation or main research project in two minutes for a non-specialist panel.
- Why this group or lab, and how does your experience fit the project described in the call?
- How did you design your experiments and choose the statistical analysis?
- Which analytical techniques have you used hands-on, and what were their limitations?
- What would be the first three months of work on this project if you were selected?
- Tell us about a result that did not work and what you did next.
Before you apply
- Read the original notice end to endDates, eligibility and the application route are decided by the employer, not by FSD.
- Tailor your resume to this vacancyMatch the keywords in the requirements. Resume Studio shows what is missing.
- Keep scanned documents readyDegree and mark sheets, date-of-birth proof, category / EWS / PwD certificate, ID proof, photo and signature in the sizes the notice asks for.
- Check age limit and relaxationAge is usually counted on a cut-off date given in the notice; relaxation depends on category.
- Note the fee and payment modePay only through the official portal. Never pay an agent.
Source & editorial check
Application fee Rs. 1,000 (PwD exempt). Online form opened 2 Nov 2026. Category-reserved posts (RBA/OBC) are for eligible J&K category holders.
Original posting: 2026-10-29
Checked 2026-11-05 · Updated 2026-11-05
Sign up free to open the original notice and the apply link.



